Let Battle Commence

Last night I was sitting watching ‘Marchlands’ when a strange feeling suddenly came over me, a sense of uneasiness.  Now you may think that this was entirely due to the spooky goings on I was witnessing on screen, but alas no, it turned out to be something quite tangible and far worse than ghosts.

So I rose from my chair, donned a coat and, torch in hand, headed out into the dark.  I wasn’t really sure what I was looking for; everything seemed fine under the narrow shaft of light dancing to a fro across the ground.  But then I spotted what my sixth sense had alerted me to: Delphiniums, growing strongly but suddenly under siege. They were everywhere, some already devouring the tender shoots (the advance party) and others making their slimy way towards the prize.  Have you guessed yet? None other than SLUGS!

Now I am an animal and insect loving man, but there are certain things I cannot and will not tolerate and slugs are most definitely one of them.  So there was no procrastination, no hand-wringing, wherever I could see them I picked them, stuck them in a tub and then, once I was sure ground and plants were free of the menace, squashed them.  Some of you may disagree with this but I do not apologise.  The plants will always come first as far as slugs are concerned.

I have been considering nematodes for some time and I think that after last night’s early warning now is the time to go ahead and get some.  So ladies and gentlemen, battle is joined.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by patientgardener on February 25, 2011 at 12:25

    I use organic slug pellets which work well and there is also a large bird and frog population in my garden to help out. I put slug pellets down as the delphiniums start to emerge so the shoots get a chance

    Reply

    • Hi Helen.
      I think I’ll be down to the garden centre this weekend to get some. I had put a ring of ash around the ones in the ground which was working for a while but the rain we’ve had recently has washed some of it away and left gaps. I might combine the ash and the organic pellets for a double defence.
      Jason.

      Reply

  2. I used to pick up the slugs with my trowel and fling them out of the garden to live their lives elsewhere. Over the years, I have become a hardened killer and merrily slice them in half with my weapon—it’s organic.

    Reply

  3. Like Helen I use organic slug pellets for vegetables but have given up growing flowers loved by slugs (being a lazy gardener!). I keep hoping the Slow worms in the compost heap will do their bit too.

    Reply

    • I think the organic pellets are the way forward, though I might still try the nematodes. I’ve put some organic pellets down this evening, with some more ash, so hopefully the Delphiniums will pull through. Thanks for commenting. Jason.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

