Sissinghurst

I always come away from Sissinghurst with a deep sense of satisfaction and joy; both the garden and the surrounding landscape exude a magical quality, but they are also tangible links to the past and markers of how we envisage the future for both our old houses and estates and the countryside. 

The unseasonably warm weather of the past few weeks has encouraged much into life that might otherwise still be considering rousing from its winter sleep.  The Lime Walk, Hot harden, Woodland, and Orchard were all teeming with colour and vitality. 

My wife and I have been visiting Sissinghurst now for a number of years, usually two or three times from Spring to Autumn, and we never tire of it.  There is so much to capture the imagination whether it be on a grand scale when considering the overall design of the various parts of the garden, or in the detail of each flower and plant.

Below are just a few pictures of the many that we took.  If you want to see some more then pop over to my wife’s blog to see the pictures she has posted.

A magical view through the woodland

Looking across to the orchard

Plenty of colour in the Hot Garden

Magnolia against blossom

Buzzzzzz

3 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely. I’m very jealous as weeks and weeks ago I’d planned to visit Sissinghurst last Saturday with friends. I particularly wanted to see the Nuttery with all it’s spring flowers. But what with all the building work going on at the moment it became obvious that a day’s jolly wasn’t on the cards. Thanks for showing me what I missed! I’ll try and get there before too long.

    Dave

    Reply

  2. On my next trip to England I hope to visit such a wonderful place. Every garden tour magazine list it as the place to visit. Your photos are great but I must say they take forever to download. Maybe resize then in a program like Picnik etc. It is free off the web and helps a lot for viewing. Jack

    Reply

  3. Thank you for sharing your visit to Sissinghurst, now I live in Italy there are so few real gardens to visit for inspiration. There are of course many wonderful historic gardens and I do enjoy those but it isn’t the same as learning by what you see at somewhere like Sissinghurst. The Spring walk and the ‘woodland’ path were always my particular favourites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

