It may be grey outside …

… but I have plenty of photographs taken in the garden to brighten up the day, and here are just a few of them:

Digitalis Purprea 'Alba'

One of many visitors to the Allium hollandicum 'Purple Sensation'

One of my favourite Clematis, 'Niobe'

 

The frilly skirts of a self-sown Aquilegia

An unknown rose with a lovey sherbert scent

Papaver orientalis ‘Patty’s Plum’, now on the wane but still looking good
I’ve so many more pictures but so little time; I hope this keeps everyone interested for now!! And If anyone recognises the rose then I’d be glad to hear from you.

 

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. That’s such a lovely poppy, I must look for seed of some perennial poppies (it is perennial isn’t it?). From the colour and form the rose could be Gertrude Jekyll, but I’m not sure I’d call the perfume sherbert. Theres a photo of mine in this post – it looks identical to me. http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/alliums-irises-and-roses/
    Hope that helps. Christina

    Reply

    • Hi Christina,

      Patty’s Plum is a perennial, indeed I think that all Oriental poppies (Papaver orientale) are perennial. I’ve successfully propagated these from seed and also from root cuttings, the first of which I took early this year and I now have a number of healthy little plants.

      The rose is quite an old one, been in the garden for over 20 years so I’m really not sure what it is. It does look similar to Gertrude Jekyll but I am not sure when that particular variety was introduced. I shall keep investigating.

      Jason.

      Reply

  2. Lovely photos, Jason. My white foxgloves are only just beginning to open. And Niobe too – a fine clematis! Still didn’t get any Patty’s Plum seed. Sigh.

    Reply

  3. Jason,
    Am always glad to see some blooms. Here at Gardens at Waters East plants are just beginning to start the flowering. Along Lake Michigan it takes much longer to have Spring get into full swing. If you check out the Blog gardensatwaterseast.blogspot.com/ you can see what I mean. But I am happy it has finally looking like a garden again. Jack

    Reply

Leave a Reply

