Natural Splendour #2

Crocosmia 'Lucifer'

This is an absolutely stunning flower of real vividness and intensity.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful – mine is nowhere near in flower yet.

    Reply

  2. Very nice indeed, Jason. You’ve solved the ‘macro problem’ then, eh?

    Dave

    Reply

  3. Fantastic plant, gives a lovely show; I’m planning to relocate some from my mum’s garden as the corms spread so rapidly.

    Reply

    • Hi Carolyn, we actually have to remove some of ours from time to time otherwise it takes over the bed and nothing else gets a look in!

      Reply

  4. That’s a stunning plant – great photo too. I have a feeling we planted one of these a while back (the missus is in charge of flowers, I do veggies, so I’d have to check) but I don’t know if it survived last winter. I’d have to check… if not then I think we’ll have to go and find one.

    Reply

    • Hi Darren,

      I also used to be the vegetable half of the partnership but now I am as much into flowers and the garden as a whole as my wife is. In fact I have come to love it so much that I am currently doing the RHS Level 2 Certificate in Horticulture with the aim of setting my own gardening/garden design business once complete. Grand plans perhaps but here’s hoping. Do get hold of this plant if you can, it is a stunner and has good tall foliage too which makes it a real feature.

      Jason.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Karen on July 8, 2011 at 23:04

    Hi Jason

    Wow what a wonderful shot! I tend to struggle photographing red flowers, particularly runner bean flowers but you have done a marvellous job with lovely Crocosmia.

    Karen

    Reply

    • Hi Karen,

      I know what you mean about red; I took some photos at Sissinghurst back in the spring of red (and orange) tulips and when I looked back at the images the flowers didn’t look real, especially where I had taken a photo of the full border. I took the Crocosmia photo later in the day which may have helped as I think that strong light can distort red – that’s my guess anyway!

      Jason.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

