Wollerton Old Hall Garden

Yesterday Katherine and I visited Wollerton Old Hall Garden, a garden I had come across by chance whilst browsing the gardening sections of the various national newspapers.  Bunny Guinness, writing in the Telegraph, enthuses about the place so on visiting my parents in Manchester we made the stop at Wollerton in North Shropshire to judge for ourselves.

To begin with I would recommend that anyone with even the slightest interest in plants and gardens visits Wollerton; it is inspiring and stunning, the planting combinations are bold and vivacious, and the design works to break down what is a large space into numerous rooms and avenues along a linear plan running from the house and also parallel to it.

As can be seen in the pictures below the planting is done in substantial blocks with repetition popping up throughout the various beds giving a sense of continuity as one wanders around.  Much of the planting is given over to perennials, many of which are unusual varieties.  Salvias are found throughout the garden and there are 81 varitites (of which we bought 4 from the attached nursery).  Heleniums, Eupatorium, Monardas, Lysimachia, Phlox, Agastache, Achillea, Echinops, Actaea … the list goes on.

The 'main herbaceous border'

Detail of the'main herbaceous border'

There are also strong architechtural features throughout the garden which contrast well with the planting and add extra interest.

Architectural elemements in the Well Garden

A view across the Lanhydrock beds

Intense colour in the Lanhydrock beds

Masses of Monarda

The Rill garden is one of my favourite elements and in it we can see the influence of the Persian style (I say this because I have recently been reading Penelope Hobhouses ‘Persian Gardens’ and this part of Wollerton exhibits such elements and style that attune to that particular influence, consciously or otherwise).

The Rill Garden

Another view of the Rill Garden

 

So there it is, a fabulous garden that everyone should visit and from which all can take inspiration and pleasure … and buy plenty of plants in the process!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Uh, oh, no pictures!

    Reply

  2. Looks fab – trouble is when I see great gardens I get really dissatisfied with my own.

    Reply

  3. Ooohhhh! I am so envious of their Monarda’s. Mine were rubbish this year, and I do love them so! Lovely post and pictures! Never been to Wollerton, certainly worth a visit.

    Reply

    • The Monardas were indeed fantastic and even better at RHS Harlow Carr which we visited a few days later. I was so taken with them that I managed to get hold of a few which I have planted and which I hope will give me a good display next year.

      Reply

  4. I’ll put it on the list; it looks wonderful. I loved the planting of clipped box by the long pool with trees by the side. I don’t suppose you know what the trees are by any chance. Christina

    Reply

    • Hi Christina, in which image was it that you liked the trees? I bought a plant list from Wollerton so hopefully I may be able to identify them for you.

      Reply

  5. Hi Jason, here’s the reply to the question you left on my blog. “Hi Jason, I wish there was enough water for a Eupatorium, wild ones do grow in the irrigation ditches that edge the fields but no, not in my garden. I think you mean the purple sedum which from the angle I took the photo could look like that. Christina”

    Reply

  6. Thanks for sharing these! Wollerton’s definitely on my wish list, but will have to be next year now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

